Principals and Advisors

The India Innovation Lab for Green Finance is comprised of expert members from government, financial institutions, and renewable energy and infrastructure developers, and together, Lab Members identify and help develop the next wave of cutting-edge finance instruments. They bring deep experience and expertise in the political, financial, and technical challenges and opportunities for clean growth in India.

Each participating institution is represented by a Lab Principal and a supporting Lab Advisor. Lab Principals are high-level experts  who inform the identification and development of innovative finance instruments. Lab Advisors support the Lab Principals and contribute institutional expertise in order to design, stress test, and advise instruments.

Lab Mentors are high-level government stakeholders who support the India Innovation Lab through an advisory role.

Lab Principals and Advisors

Philippe Serres – Lab Principal 

Regional Manager, South Asia, PROPARCO

Camille Severac – Lab Advisor

Project Officer, Energy and Finance Sectors, Agence Française de Développement, New Delhi Office

Mayank Choudhary – Lab Principal

Senior Investment Specialist, Asian Development Bank

Amit Kumar – Lab Advisor

Investment Officer, Asian Development Bank

Dipender Saluja – Lab Principal 

Managing Director, Capricorn Investment Group

Dr. Sushanta K. Chatterjee – Lab Principal

Joint Chief of Regulatory Affairs, Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC)

H.T. Gandhi – Lab Advisor

Deputy Chief of Finance, Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC)

Jayant Prasad – Lab Principal

Executive Board Member, cKers Finance

Piyush Mishra – Lab Principal

Partner, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas

Justin Guay – Lab Principal

Program Officer, Climate, The David and Lucile Packard Foundation

Craig Neyman – Lab Advisor

Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, The David and Lucile Packard Foundation

Vinod K Kala – Lab Principal 

Managing Director, Emergent Ventures India

Jatin Kapoor – Lab Advisor

Principal Consultant and Head Business Development, Emergent Ventures India

Stefan Hediger – Lab Principal 

Head of Energy Cell, India, KfW Development Bank

Onkar Nath – Lab Advisor

Technical Expert, GIZ India

Arjun Guha – Lab Advisor

Energy SpecialistIndia, KfW Development Bank

Suvir S Davda – Lab Principal 

Director, Global Market Corporate Services, HSBC India

Ankur Gupta – Lab Advisor

Sr. Manager, Corporate Risk Solutions, Global Markets Corporate Services, HSBC India

Alok Bhargava – Lab Principal

CEO-Strategic Support Group, IL&FS Trust Company Limited (ITCL)

Parag Baduni – Lab Advisor

Associate Director, IL&FS Trust Company Limited (ITCL)

Dr. E.S. Rao – Lab Principal

Chief General Manager, India Infrastructure Finance Company Ltd (IIFCL)

Rajeev Kumar Gupta – Lab Advisor

Assistant Manager – Credit Monitoring, India Infrastructure Finance Company Ltd (IIFCL)

Venkataraman Rajaraman – Lab Principal

Senior Director and Head – Infrastructure and Project Finance, India Ratings & Research 

Divya Charen C – Lab Advisor

Analyst – Infrastructure and Project Finance, India Ratings & Research 

S.K. Bhargava – Lab Principal

Director of Finance, Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IREDA)

Debjani Bhatia – Lab Advisor

Assistant General Manager, Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IREDA)

Dr. O.P. Agarwal – Lab Principal

Executive Director, Punj Lloyd Institute of Infrastructure Management, Indian School of Business

Kinshuk Saurabh – Lab Advisor

Associate Director, Punj Lloyd Institute of Infrastructure Management, Indian School of Business

Swapan Mehra – Lab Principal

CEO, IORA Ecological Solutions

Sriya Mohanty – Lab Advisor

Manager – Climate Policy, IORA Ecological Solutions

Prashant Sinha – Lab Principal

Head (Energy) – Credit Risk, L&T Infra Finance

Sanjeev Mishra – Lab Advisor

Team Manager – Energy Risk Vertical, L&T Infra Finance

Rajesh Cherayil – Lab Principal

Managing Director, Nereus Capital

Sahba Chauhan – Lab Principal

Programme Officer, Oak Foundation

William Pegues – Lab Principal

Director, Structured Finance, Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)

Stephen Morel – Lab Advisor  

Climate Finance Specialist, Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)

Kailash Vaswani – Lab Principal

Deputy CFO, ReNew Power

Nikunj Kathuria – Lab Advisor

Corporate Finance, ReNew Power

Rajat Misra – Lab Principal

Senior Vice President of Infrastructure, SBI Capital Markets

Neeraj Jain – Lab Advisor

Assistant Vice President of Infrastructure, SBI Capital Markets

Krishan Dhawan – Lab Principal

CEO, Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation

Deepak Gupta – Lab Advisor

Senior Programme Manager, Power, Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation

Paul Needham – Lab Principal

Chairman, Simpa Networks

Piyush Mathur – Lab Advisor

CEO, Simpa Networks

Pashupathy Gopalan – Lab Principal

President, SunEdison Asia Pacific

Akshay Hiranandani – Lab Advisor

Capital Formations and Corporate Development, SunEdison

Sandy Sheard – Lab Principal

Head, Energy, Climate and Growth Unit,  UK Government

Amit Rama – Lab Advisor

Director, International Investment Team, Green Investment Bank, UK Government

Udit Mathur – Lab Advisor

Senior Advisor, Low Carbon Growth at DFID, British High Commission, UK Government

Chris Adams – Lab Advisor

Field Investment Officer, India, USAID

Simon Stolp – Lab Principal

Lead Energy Specialist, India, World Bank

Amit Jain – Lab Advisor

Energy Specialist in Renewable Energy, World Bank

Deepak Malhotra – Lab Advisor

Investment Officer, International Finance Corporation (IFC), World Bank 

Preeti Sinha – Lab Principal

Senior President & Global Convenor, YES BANK and YES Institute

Mohammad Aatish Khan – Lab Advisor

Vice President & Senior Fellow-Natural Capital, YES BANK and YES Institute


Lab Mentors

Santosh Vaidya

IAS, Joint Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

Dr. A.K. Tripathi

Director, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

Sharmila Chavaly

Joint Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Anil Jain

Energy Adviser, NITI Aayog